Need Help? Talk to a specialist: 1-630-543-3747

DicksonOne | Manually Updating the Firmware via the USB

Manually Updating the Firmware via the USB

These instructions are best used for the TSB touchscreen device and TWE/TWP DicksonOne touchscreens. We highly recommend enabling automatic firmware updates for DicksonOne enabled units, but we understand that SOPs often require new firmware versions to be validated.  Only Generation 2 DicksonOne devices support Over the Air (OTA) updates.

You can also set individual devices to update automatically while the rest of  your account is manual. This is great in the case where you need to validate a new firmware and have one test device dedicated to this.

You can view the details and download the latest firmware version from the firmware change log page. Make note of where you've saved the file. 
  1. DO NOT REMOVE POWER FROM THE DEVICE WHILE IT IS UPDATING.
  2. Download the firmware file and save it to a USB memory stick. 
  3. Plug the USB stick into the USB port on the touchscreen. 
  4. Once the USB icon has appeared hold the power button until either:
    1. The unit says it is shutting down and the screen turns off, then proceed to step 5.
    2. The screen turns black after approximately five seconds. Wait an additional 5 seconds for the unit to fully shut down and proceed to step 5.
  5. Turn on the device by holding the power button for approx. 5 seconds.
  6. A grey screen will appear and indicate the touchscreen is updating. 
  7. After the device has updated, the main graph screen will appear. 
  8. To confirm the update was successful, go into the device settings and then the information tab and confirm the firmware version is the desired firmware. 

If this process doesn't work, try again. If you are still having issues or cannot update please contact Dickson support.

NOTE: The device checks for new firmware about every 8 hours, but you can force this by restarting the device. An update typically takes about 2 hours to download and then less than a minute or so to update. Logging continues during the update process and no data is lost during this process.